Saturday 15 July 2017

Awards granted in relation with ALD - help to complete the list?

As mentioned in an earlier post, I am in the process of writing a Millennium Technology Prize nomination document for ALD and Tuomo Suntola. Supporting letters for the nomination are welcome from all over the world. At the time of writing this text, I have received five such letters. I hope that altogether we can collect  20-30 supporting letters - everyone's contribution is welcome.

About the nomination. It came to my mind that it might be worth listing to the nomination document the awards that have been granted worldwide to ALD so far. Below is my current list and some questions related to two possible additions.

Do you have another award in mind that someone has received anywhere in the world, from some recognized organization, which could be added to the list? If you have suggestions (need to be backed up by a document available in the internet), please leave a comment or contact me at

Awards so far which I am aware of - probably an incomplete list:

The two award where I am thinking if they can go to the list are the following. Opinions welcome.

Since 2011, an ALD Innovation Prize has been given out at the at the international conference on atomic layer deposition. As reported by Parsons at ALD 2016, the recipients so far have been:

  • 2016 Suvi Haukka (ASM Microchemistry, Finland),
  • 2015 Gregory Parsons (North Carolina State University, USA),
  • 2014 Hyeongtag Jeon (Hanyang University, Korea),
  • 2013 Steven George (University of Colorado, USA),
  • 2012 Markku Leskelä (University of Helsinki, Finland),
  • 2011 Roy Gordon (Harvard University, USA).
I think that there have been other awards, though, too - e.g. Prof. Charles Winter I cannot see in this list. If someone has a full list, please send to me:

Virtual Project on the History of ALD (VPHA) - in atmosphere of Openness, Respect, and Trust


  1. Came to my mind: Lars Peter Lindfors award for the doctoral thesis could perhaps be added. By Finnish Catalysis Society?

  2. To add to ALD innovation prize list:
    2017 Jeffrey Elam (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)

  3. Geade Prize from the German vacuum society in 2012, Mato Knez